Best Japan eSIM for Tourists (2026): Which One Should You Buy?

SIM & eSIM

There is no single best Japan eSIM for every traveler. The right choice depends on how much data you need, how long you will stay, whether you want to use a hotspot, and how clearly the provider explains speed limits. This guide compares four established options using information checked on their official websites in September 2026. No affiliate links are used.

Quick Answer

  • Light users: Nomad’s 3GB or 5GB fixed-data plans are inexpensive options for maps, messaging and occasional browsing.
  • Typical one- to two-week trips: Ubigi or Nomad 10GB plans provide a clear allowance and 30-day validity.
  • Heavy phone data use: Airalo or Nomad unlimited plans may be useful, but both reduce speed after a daily high-speed allowance.
  • Hotspot users: Ubigi, Nomad and Airalo allow tethering. Holafly’s Japan plan limits shareable hotspot data to 1GB per day.
  • Longer stays: Nomad offers large fixed allowances up to 50GB for 30 days; Ubigi’s reusable profile can also be topped up.

Prices, promotions and available networks can change by currency, location and checkout date. Recheck the exact plan page before paying.

How We Compared Japan eSIMs

“Best” in this guide does not mean a numerical ranking. We compared price, data allowance, validity, disclosed Japanese networks, 4G or 5G availability, tethering, activation timing, top-up options, refund restrictions and fair-use rules. The most suitable service is the one whose limits match your trip.

Japan eSIM Comparison

Prices checked September 2026. The examples below are data-only travel plans. Currency conversion, taxes, sales and account-specific offers may change the displayed price.

ProviderExample planValidityNetwork5GHotspotKey limitation
AiraloUnlimited, 7 days, US$26.507 daysSoftBank plus another network shown in plan detailsWhere supportedYesNormally 3GB high-speed per 24 hours, then 1Mbps
Ubigi10GB, US$16.5030 daysKDDI / NTT DocomoYes, compatible device requiredYesFixed allowance; service ends or needs top-up after 10GB
Nomad10GB, US$1730 daysKDDI au / SoftBankPlan and coverage dependentYesNot every plan supports an add-on
HolaflyUnlimited, 7 days, US$27.507 daysKDDI / SoftBankUp to 5G1GB per dayCarrier FUP may temporarily reduce speed; high-speed threshold not stated

Airalo Japan eSIM

Who It Is Best For

Airalo is suitable for travelers who want an unlimited-labelled plan with a clearly published daily fair-use rule and unrestricted hotspot support.

Price, Network and Limits

The official Japan page listed unlimited plans at US$11.50 for 3 days, US$17 for 5 days and US$26.50 for 7 days when checked in September 2026. The page identifies SoftBank as the primary network and indicates one additional available network. These local plans are data-only.

Airalo allows tethering. Under its published unlimited-plan Fair Use Policy, the default allowance is 3GB of high-speed data per 24-hour period. Speed is then reduced to 1Mbps until that 24-hour period resets. Hotspot traffic counts toward the same allowance. A different threshold may apply if the package details say so.

Most Airalo packages begin when they first connect to a supported network, but some begin on installation, so check the plan’s Validity Policy. Eligible fixed-data packages may support top-ups. Refund eligibility depends on the purchase and usage status; activated or consumed service has tighter restrictions.

Main drawback: “Unlimited” does not mean unlimited high-speed data. Heavy streaming or laptop tethering can trigger the 1Mbps limit.

Ubigi Japan eSIM

Who It Is Best For

Ubigi is a practical choice for typical travelers who prefer a known fixed allowance, two disclosed Japanese networks and a reusable eSIM profile.

Price, Network and Limits

The official Ubigi plan page listed 10GB for 30 days at US$16.50, last updated September 22, 2026. It uses KDDI and NTT Docomo networks and supports 4G and 5G where available with a compatible device.

Ubigi is data-only, supports data sharing, and permits top-ups through its app. Smartstart begins the validity period when the plan connects in a covered destination. The plan must be activated within six months of purchase. The eSIM profile can remain installed and be reused for later Ubigi plans.

Main drawback: the example is a fixed 10GB allowance, not unlimited. Once the allowance is consumed, you need a top-up or another plan. Check refund and cancellation conditions before installing or using it.

Nomad Japan eSIM

Who It Is Best For

Nomad offers a broad range of fixed allowances, making it useful for both light users and longer stays. Its unlimited option is better viewed as a daily high-speed plan with slower continuing data.

Price, Network and Limits

The official Japan page listed 3GB for US$7, 5GB for US$10, 10GB for US$17 and 50GB for US$35, each valid for 30 days. A 7-day unlimited-labelled plan was US$25. Nomad identifies KDDI au and SoftBank as its Japanese networks and supports 4G/5G depending on the selected plan, location and device.

Tethering is supported. Nomad’s published unlimited-plan terms state that after more than 2GB in a day, speed is reduced to 512kbps, normally for up to 24 hours. The unlimited plan is data-only and does not support add-ons. Fixed plans may support add-ons, but not every product does.

You can install before departure. The plan normally starts when it connects to the destination network. It must be activated within 60 days of purchase or it may activate automatically and begin expiring.

Main drawback: the unlimited plan slows more sharply than Airalo after its daily allowance, while add-on availability differs between products.

Holafly Japan eSIM

Who It Is Best For

Holafly is aimed at travelers who do not want to choose a fixed total allowance and mainly use data on one phone. It is less suitable for heavy hotspot use.

Price, Network and Limits

The official Japan page listed US$11.90 for 3 days, US$20.50 for 5 days, US$27.50 for 7 days, US$36.50 for 10 days and US$73.90 for 30 days. The Japan trip eSIM is data-only and can connect at 3G, 4G or 5G depending on local coverage and device support.

Holafly allows 1GB of shareable hotspot data per day. Its public Japan page identifies KDDI and SoftBank as the available networks. The provider also states that a local carrier Fair Use Policy may temporarily reduce speed for no more than one day, but it does not publish a specific Japan high-speed threshold on that page. Therefore, the plan should not be described as guaranteed unlimited high-speed data.

Install before departure and activate after arrival by selecting the eSIM and enabling data roaming. The trip plan begins when it connects to a supported local network. Holafly says the eSIM cannot be transferred or reinstalled after installation. Full change-of-plan refunds generally require that the eSIM has not been activated and was purchased within the previous six months.

Main drawback: hotspot data is capped at 1GB per day, and the high-speed Fair Use threshold is not disclosed on the public Japan page.

What “Unlimited” Actually Means

An unlimited label usually means that the connection continues after a fair-use threshold; it does not necessarily mean unlimited data at the fastest available speed.

  • Airalo: normally 3GB high-speed per 24 hours, then 1Mbps until reset.
  • Nomad: more than 2GB per day triggers 512kbps, normally for up to 24 hours.
  • Holafly: local-carrier FUP can temporarily reduce speed, but the Japan page does not state the threshold; hotspot is 1GB per day.

These rules can change. Read the package details immediately before purchase, especially if you plan to stream video, work remotely or share data with a laptop.

How Much Data Do You Need?

The following is a rough guide, not a guaranteed usage calculation.

  • Light use: maps, messaging, translation and occasional searches. A small fixed plan may be enough if you use hotel Wi-Fi.
  • Normal use: maps, regular browsing, social media and photo uploads. Around 10GB gives many tourists a clearer buffer than a very small plan.
  • Heavy use: frequent video, cloud backups, video calls or hotspot use. Compare a large fixed plan with the exact daily high-speed allowance of an unlimited plan.

Check Your Phone Before Buying

  • Confirm that the exact phone model supports eSIM.
  • Make sure the phone is carrier-unlocked.
  • Check whether the provider requires an EID, IMEI or app account.
  • Do not delete the eSIM during the trip unless support tells you to; some profiles cannot be reinstalled.
  • Select the travel eSIM for mobile data and disable data roaming on your home SIM to avoid charges.
  • If using dual SIM, decide which line handles calls and SMS.

Installation and Activation

  1. Purchase only after checking compatibility and the refund conditions.
  2. Install over reliable Wi-Fi before departure if the provider permits it.
  3. Keep the QR code or manual installation details accessible on another device.
  4. After landing, enable the travel line, select it for mobile data and turn on roaming for that eSIM.
  5. Keep roaming disabled on your home SIM unless you intentionally need it.

Activation rules are not identical. Airalo tells customers to check each package’s Validity Policy. Ubigi Smartstart and Holafly trip plans normally begin on connection in the destination. Nomad normally starts on destination-network connection but imposes a 60-day activation deadline. Check when your plan’s validity starts before installing it.

eSIM vs Pocket WiFi or a Physical SIM

An eSIM is convenient for one traveler with a compatible unlocked phone. Pocket WiFi can be easier when several people need one connection, although everyone must remain near the router. A physical SIM remains useful for an incompatible phone or a product that includes services unavailable on the eSIM. See our Pocket WiFi vs eSIM guide and SIM card vs eSIM comparison.

Who Should Not Use an eSIM?

  • Travelers with an eSIM-incompatible or carrier-locked phone.
  • Families who want several devices to share one connection continuously.
  • Anyone who requires a Japanese phone number, ordinary voice calls or SMS.
  • Travelers uncomfortable changing SIM, roaming and mobile-data settings without assistance.

Common Mistakes

  1. Buying before checking the exact model and carrier-lock status.
  2. Assuming “unlimited” means unlimited full-speed data.
  3. Deleting the eSIM when troubleshooting.
  4. Selecting the home SIM for mobile data or leaving its roaming enabled.
  5. Buying far more data than the trip is likely to require.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best eSIM for Japan?

There is no universal winner. Choose a fixed Ubigi or Nomad plan for predictable usage, or compare Airalo, Nomad and Holafly fair-use rules if you need an unlimited-labelled plan.

Does an eSIM work everywhere in Japan?

Coverage depends on the underlying Japanese network, location, congestion and device. No provider can guarantee identical service everywhere, particularly in remote or mountainous areas.

Can I use a hotspot?

All four options support some form of tethering, but the limits differ. Holafly allows 1GB per day, while Airalo hotspot use shares the same daily high-speed allowance. Always check the selected plan.

Can I install the eSIM before flying?

Usually, but activation timing differs. Install using stable Wi-Fi only after confirming whether validity starts on installation, destination-network connection or an activation deadline.

Do these Japan eSIMs include a phone number?

The specific plans compared here are data-only. Internet calling and messaging apps still work, but they do not replace a local voice and SMS number.

Is Pocket WiFi better than an eSIM?

Pocket WiFi can suit groups and multiple devices. An eSIM is usually simpler for one person who wants connectivity without carrying and charging another device.

Final Decision

Start with your expected data use and trip length, then compare the exact high-speed allowance rather than the marketing label. Check device compatibility, activation timing, hotspot limits and refund rules before paying. A modest fixed plan is often enough for maps and messaging; large or unlimited-labelled plans make more sense only when their speed and tethering restrictions fit your actual use.

Copied title and URL